WIP Wednesday

WIPWednesdayHave you got your WIPs ready?

 I started to write this post yesterday but didn’t actually get around to finishing it. Well, it’s finished now so here it is, just one day late. You know what they say: better late than never!

I have several projects to share with you this week so we’d better get started, hadn’t we?!

First up is the granny blanket I’m making for Big Miss

Granny blanket for Big Miss

Granny blanket for Big Miss

I only have to work a few more rounds and the edging to finish it, but I don’t expect I will finish it before next Wednesday!

Next is the Sea Foam Throw for our sofa:

Sea Foam Throw

Sea Foam Throw

I have made quite a bit of progress on this since last week’s update, especially when you consider there are 505 stitches on each row! I have put this to one side for a little while until I can replace the incredibly light green with a much darker one. I have the yarn now, but I have started on another big project which is kind of taking preference over this. Read on to find out more about that!

Next is a pot holder I keep saying I’m going to make but never actually get around to.

Tyyne Pot Holder

Tyyne Pot Holder

Again, not an awful lot of progress, but that’s because I’m using a 2.5mm hook and it’s hard work with a cotton yarn.

Next is something a little bit special. Last year I crocheted a motif every day for about eight months. I now have hundreds of motifs in a carrier bag looking for a purpose. I decided (while waiting to get the dark green yarn for the Sea Foam Throw) that it would be a good idea to start joining some of these motifs

Motif Sampler

Motif Sampler

Again, not much progress, but I have only spent a few hours on it. It’s not a project I want to sit and work on for long periods of time, just one to pick up now and then when I want to do something a little different…

And now for the big distraction in my life at the moment. Do you remember one of my first posts about the cosy bed blanket? Well that blanket was originally intended to be a Christmas present for my sister, only I had trouble getting hold of the right yarn colours to complete it and then she wasn’t talking to me for a while. She started talking to me again so I wrapped it up and asked my Mum to take it over to her (that was last weekend and I haven’t heard anything from either of them, so I have no idea whether she has received it or not, and if she did, whether she liked it). So in lieu of a blanket on our bed, we have been using a combination of smaller blankets. This is not a practical nor a long-term solution and we needed to find something better.

When I picked up Mollie Makes Home, there was a pattern for Nicki Trench’s throw from her book Cute & Easy Crochet. I fell in love with it and showed Mr CA and he also liked it, so yesterday we bought the yarn for it. My usual supplier is having supply difficulties at the moment apparently (almost no yarn left in the shop – and this has been a persistent problem for several months now) so we visited the charity shop across the road from it. They stock Cygnet yarns and we found some lovely soft acrylic DK yarns in some gorgeously scrumptious colours so we bought enough (I think) for the whole blanket. I know I will have to go back to get (at least) one more ball of the main colour (on the left in the photo), but I certainly have enough to start with.

Bed Throw - yarn

Bed Throw – yarn

I can’t wait to be able to share some photos of the squares!

I am linking up with Tami’s Amis and Crochet Addic UK again this week – click on their logos to visit their sites and see what they’re up to

TamisAmisWIPWWhatYouDoingWeds-CrochetAddictUK

I love to hear what you have to say, so please do leave a comment!

