WIP Wednesday

WIPWednesdayHave you got your WIPs ready?

Wow it has been ages since I posted; five whole weeks! I guess I have been in a bit of a slump lately; I have been crocheting, but I haven’t really felt like putting the computer on and actually writing a blog post until today.

So, what have you been up to? I expect you have all finished what you were working on five weeks ago? I have finished one thing I was working on then: the Sea Foam Rainbow Throw for our sofa. It has taken me so very long to make that I can hardly believe that it is finally finished! I have a few other finishes to share, but I think they deserve their own post.

So here’s what’s on my hook(s) at the moment:

I am still working on the Springtime Throw:

Springtime Throw - hundreds of little squares waiting to be joined

Springtime Throw – hundreds of little squares waiting to be joined

There really are hundreds of squares in this bag waiting to be joined. I thought it best to complete the making of the squares before tackling the joining of them, however, I may revise this decision…

I have started to crochet myself a new shawl. I was inspired by the wrap I made for the Little Miss for her prom, which is still being blocked. I had some of the same yarn in another colour and thought it would suit the pattern perfectly. I am using Kristin Omdahl’s book, Crochet So Fine (Ravelry) for the pattern:

Lacy Diamonds Shawl

Lacy Diamonds Shawl

I love the lacy details, but I wanted something a little warmer than a lace-weight yarn, so I’m using King Cole Galaxy DK in Pink (679). The tiny sequins really add the the depth of the pattern, don’t you think? I haven’t worked on this for a few days, but it is really quick to crochet so it shouldn’t be too long before this gets its ta-dah moment!

The final item that is currently (actively) being worked on is a baby blanket for my sister who is expecting a little boy in August. I started off using the double-ended crochet technique, but decided to incorporate a little Tunisian crochet while I learn the stitches:

Baby Blanket using both double-ended and Tunisian crochet techniques

Baby Blanket using both double-ended and Tunisian crochet techniques

Of course it now turns out that she doesn’t want pastels, so the blanket may have to be scrapped as a gift, but I think it will still work as a Tunisian stitch sampler…

Another project I am working on, for which there are no photos at the present time, is a tutorial. It is taking me an inordinately long time to compose this tutorial, but I will share it as soon as it is finished. I’m sorry I can’t say anything more about it at this time, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise (or have someone beat me to it by posting their tutorial for the exact same item before I finish writing mine!). I am working on it, and it will make it to the blog, so watch this space!

Now it’s your turn! Do post a link in the comments below and tell me what you have been working on – I really am interested and love to see what everyone else is making!

I’m linking up with Tami’s Amis, Crochet Addict UK and Frontier Dreams again this week, so do click on their links and see what they and everyone else has been up to.

TamisAmisWIPWWhatYouDoingWeds-CrochetAddictUK

I love to hear what you have to say, so please do leave a comment!

