Fabulous Finishes on Friday

I have been meaning to write this post for nearly two months, but what with one thing and another I just haven’t got around to it until now. And now that I am sat here with time to write the post, my mind has gone blank and I can’t think what to say. Oh well. We’ll let the photos do the talking shall we?

Colourful Mandala Designed by Wink of a creative being for issue 5 of Simply Crochet

Colourful Mandala Designed by Wink of a creative being for issue 5 of Simply Crochet

I was so excited when I saw the mandala pattern in Simply Crochet that I just couldn’t resist making it. I used King Cole Smooth DK in stead of aran-weight cotton, but I think it turned out rather lovely. Now I just have to decide what to do with it! When it was finished, it wouldn’t sit flat without blocking, so I worked the pattern again in different colours:

Second attempt at Wink's colourful mandala pattern using a larger hook

Second attempt at Wink’s colourful mandala pattern using a larger hook

I have decided, though, that the first one looks better, and not just for the colours but also for the tension.

Inspired and enthused by my two pretty mandalas, I decided to try another one, this time a different design and a bit bigger. I bought a copy of Crochet Today and decided that the pattern for the tyre cosy could be adapted into a mandala. I worked the first six rounds or so according to the pattern instructions and then I kind of winged it:

Large mandala/tablecloth

Large mandala/tablecloth

It’s a bit too big around the outer rounds, but it sits on the table. I am now itching to crochet a lace tablecloth!

I’m linking up with Tami’s Amis but also invite you to link up here, if you would like. Please click on Tami’s logo to visit her blog and see what everyone else has made, and it would be nice if you could click on other people’s links here too (comments, I am sure, would be greatly appreciated!).

FOfriday

I love to hear what you have to say, so please do leave a comment!

