Thursday Thoughts for Inspiration

ThursdayThoughtsLogo

It’s Thursday again – it comes around so quickly doesn’t it? As always, please do click on some of the links and leave a comment 😉

Inspiring Magazines

Click on the photo to go to the website/blog

Simply Crochet issue 8Simply Crochet issue 8

FacebookPinterestRavelryTwitterYouTube

Wow. I mean, well, WOW! The Simply Crochet team have surpassed themselves. There are oodles of beautiful lacy patterns for you to get your hooks into this month including doilies, shawls/wraps/stoles and ribbons. There is also a geometric cushion, if lace isn’t your thing, and Jane Crowfoot’s Notebook is as inspirational as ever. I subscribe to SC so I got my issue early, which means that you have plenty of time to head down to your local newsagent to get your own copy (I think it hits the shelves today in the UK)  – but don’t leave it too long! I have already finished three of the doilies!

Nail Art by Helena Biggs

Nail Art by Helena Biggs

LinkedInTwitter

I first became interested in nail art about twelve years ago, and this book shows the sort of thing I wanted to do. I have several books on nail art, but most of them focus on acrylics and air brushing. I did a manicure course (one must hold a manicure certificate before enrolling in an acrylics course) but couldn’t cope with the smell of acrylics and so decided to just leave it at that. I have never actually had a job in this field, and I am entirely self-taught when it comes to nail art. I must say that I am very pleased (not to mention a bit overwhelmed) with all the products currently available on the market for the average person to create nail art at home without the need for a technician. While this book also features some very beautiful acrylic nails, it also teaches several methods of nail art that don’t involve acrylics or air brushing. I can’t wait to start introducing some of these designs into my repertoire of techniques, but my nails have been in particularly poor condition this year so I am limited in how much I will actually be able to do. That and the fact that I can no longer sit at the table for four hours doing my nails as there are other priorities and, to be quite frank, pain. While these factors are limiting, I still have every intention of teaching myself these new ideas from the book and inspired by the book. If you are interested in nail art (at home or in the salon) then you should definitely buy this book. Clicking on the photo of it above will take you to Amazon where you can buy it. I was lucky enough to find my copy in The Works for a mere £3.99.

Home Crafts

Home Crafts bookazine

(No links available I’m afraid)

As soon as I saw this I just new I had to get it. It is full of wonderful projects for the home, which is interesting since it is published by the same company as Creative Home Crafts. There are pot holders, table decorations, placemats and coasters and many, many more things for you to get your creative hands into. It would have been nice to see a little more crochet in there, but I really am not complaining. It is £9.99 and you should be able to find it in W H Smiths.

Inspiring blogs

Gillian wrote a very thought provoking post on noticing the lasts as well as the firsts

Gillian wrote a very thought provoking post on noticing the lasts as well as the firsts

Jaime found this great pattern on Craftsy (and I found this post via Podkins)

Jaime found this great pattern on Craftsy (and I found this post via Podkins)

Sue is trying to decide which motif she should use for her shawl - I think this one!

Sue is trying to decide which motif she should use for her shawl – I think this one!

AnneMarie featured a beautiful Mandala from last week's link up

AnneMarie featured a beautiful Mandala from last week’s link up

Kat Goldin writes about her preferred sources for inspiration - well worth a read (plus a giveaway)

Kat Goldin writes about her preferred sources for inspiration – well worth a read (plus a giveaway)

Sarah at Repeat Crafter Me made this gorgeous button art owl!

Sarah at Repeat Crafter Me made this gorgeous button art owl!

Podkins found this blanket photo at Coastal Cottage, from which I found the pattern at Solgrim (photo takes you to the pattern page in English)

Podkins found this blanket photo at Coastal Cottage, from which I found the pattern at Solgrim (photo takes you to the pattern page in English)

MeMeRose has been busy patchworking with vintage fabrics

MeMeRose has been busy patchworking with vintage fabrics

The Mollie Makes team are fantasising about fish in their Fabric Friday post

The Mollie Makes team are fantasising about fish in their Fabric Friday post

Stacey at Fresh Stitches let the kangaroo hop out of the mystery bag

Stacey at Fresh Stitches let the kangaroo hop out of the mystery bag

Olga from Lacy Crochet talks about making lace trims for hankies

Olga from Lacy Crochet talks about making lace trims for hankies

Haafner is making a lovely market bag - click on over to her blog to find out where she got the pattern

Haafner is making a lovely market bag – click on over to her blog to find out where she got the pattern

 

Claire at Heart Handmade discovered a wonderful new blog, "Feel Wunderbar". Click on over to find out more

Claire at Heart Handmade discovered a wonderful new blog, “Feel Wunderbar”. Click on over to find out more

Stephanie at All About Ami invites you to link up your blog

Stephanie at All About Ami invites you to link up your blog

Click on over to Homemade Obsessions for a free bunny sewing pattern

Pammy Sue over at Scotty's Place has made a beautiful doily

Pammy Sue over at Scotty’s Place has made a beautiful doily

 

MeMe Rose is hosting a crochet-a-long of her Alice Owl pattern

MeMe Rose is hosting a crochet-a-long of her Alice Owl pattern

Pigtails has been busy making some beautiful doilies

Pigtails has been busy making some beautiful doilies

 

Margaret from Freubelblog has made some cute snails

Margaret from Freubelblog has made some cute snails

UK Crochet Patterns shares some thoughts on crocheting with denim

UK Crochet Patterns shares some thoughts on crocheting with denim

That’s all for this week. I hope to be back again next week with some more thoughts for inspiration – I do hope you’ll join me!

In the meantime, if I have featured your blog here, feel free to grab this badge:

 

ThursdayThoughtsLogo-Featured

And if you have any further inspiring thoughts to add, please do comment below!

I love to hear what you have to say, so please do leave a comment!

