Fabulous Finishes on… Monday!!

FabulouFinishesOnMonday

Yes, ordinarily I would wait until Friday to share my finished crochet projects, but I am so excited about these that I just couldn’t wait until then!

This one I finished a week ago and I just love it:

Pink Doily

Pink Doily

Haafner was kind enough to let me have a copy of the Japanese pattern for this little beauty. I love how delicate it is. I have used a 4mm hook and Patons 100% Cotton DK for this. I think I will try making it with a smaller hook and a finer yarn…

Square Doily

Square Doily

This is another doily from issue 8 of Simply Crochet, designed by Jennifer May. This is supposed to be a tray cover, but I think “square doily” does it justice. I have used Patons Smoothie and a 4mm hook.

Darling Doily number 1

Darling Doily number 1

This is also from Simply Crochet and was designed by Cara Medus. I have used Patons Smoothie DK and a 4mm hook again.

Darling Doily number 2

Darling Doily number 2

Also designed by Cara Medus and from issue 8 of Simply Crochet. I love the simplicity of this one. Again I have used Patons Smoothie DK and a 4mm hook.

This next one I am particularly pleased with. I was browsing through issue 7 of Homemaker magazine when I reached the knitting and crochet section, the first page of which was adorned with two identical doilies in different colours. I was entranced by them, and then disappointed when the pattern wasn’t included in the next few pages. So I copied it to the best of my ability.

Homemaker Doily

Homemaker Doily

What do you think? Unfortunately I ran out of the lighter blue and had to change to the darker blue for the last two rounds, but other than that I think it’s a fair match! I have used DMC Natura Just Cotton 4-ply and a 2.75mm hook.

Mantilla Doily

Mantilla Doily

I am particularly pleased with this one as it is my first crochet thread doily. It was a free pattern download from Coats & Clark. I have used Puppets Eldorado ticket 10 crochet cotton from Coats Crafts UK and a 1.5mm hook. This variegated colourway was the only ball of crochet cotton I could reach when I started on it, and I wasn’t sure that it would look ok, but I think it has turned out well, don’t you?

Well that’s all for now. I hope to be back on Wednesday to share my WIPs!

One thought on “Fabulous Finishes on… Monday!!

I love to hear what you have to say, so please do leave a comment!

