WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday with CrochetAngel500

Are you ready to share your WIPs?

I have three projects to share with you today, all using the same pattern (and yes, I am working on them simultaneously). I am using a pattern called “Spider Web Doily” which I found here. I have used a different thread and hook size for each doily:

The first one I started is using size 10 crochet thread and a 1.5mm hook. The pattern calls for size 30 thread, but I haven’t as yet been able to get my hands on any. Hopefully that will change on Friday…

Size 10 crochet thread and 1.5mm hook

Size 10 crochet thread and 1.5mm hook

I have made more progress on this one than the other two, but simply because I started it first.

Cotton Perle 8 and 1.25mm hook

Cotton Perle 8 and 1.25mm hook

I started the second one with Anchor cotton perle 8 thread. I understand that as the thread’s size number goes up so the thread get thinner, but I would swear that size 8 is thinner than size 10.

0.6mm hook and sewing thread

0.6mm hook and sewing thread

No, the photo isn’t fuzzy. And yes, I am using sewing thread and a 0.6mm hook. I noticed from my online research that size 30 thread is usually crocheted with a 0.6mm hook, and since none of my crochet thread was fine enough to use said hook, I decided to give sewing thread a go. I am progressing quite well with it considering how fiddly it is.

And now for the comparison, which is the object of this exercise in repetition:

Spider web doilies numbers one, two and three respectively

Spider web doilies numbers one, two and three respectively

As you can see, there is quite a difference in size. However, let me just explain that they are not all at the same level of progress; doily number one has 19 rounds completed, doily number two has fifteen rounds completed, and doily number three has only nine rounds completed. Even though they aren’t all at the same level of progress, you can still see the difference in size.

What have you been working on lately? Do share a link in the comments below and I will be happy to pop on over and have a look – and leave you a comment of my own too!

I am linking up with Tami’s Amis, Crochet Addict UK, Frontier Dreams, Small Things, Crochet Happy and Ducks n’ a Row. Please do click on their respective links below and see what everyone else is up to this week 🙂

TamisAmisWIPWWhatYouDoingWeds-CrochetAddictUK

Frontier Dreams

CrochetHappyWedsLinkUp

DucksInARowWedsBlogHop

Ducks n’ a Row

7 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

I love to hear what you have to say, so please do leave a comment!

